Friday Insights - SEO

What I'm doing to crack Google and my incredible feat of human ingenuity this week šŸ˜œ

This is Bye, Social Media!, where you can learn everything you need to build a thriving solo-business independent from social media.

If youā€˜re new to the newsletter, you can sign up for it here.

Hiya,

this week, my interviewee ghosted me. šŸ‘» Pfffft!

My brain was 100% blank for this weekā€™s newsletter. What on earth am I supposed to write about now?!? I had thought the newsletter was taken care of and my mind sent all brain cells involved in creating these emails on holiday. Maybe, you know this: you mentally check something off and it ceases to exist for you. Thatā€™s exactly what happened here.

To make lemonade out of those lemons, Iā€™d love to share with you what Iā€™ve been learning behind the scenes. Itā€™s been a while since Iā€™ve sent a Friday Insight, so here we go with an edition on my SEO learnings so far.

Weā€™ll explore:

  • SEO learnings and regrets

  • How I won at being human on Wednesday.

Letā€™ get into it!

SEO Experiments & Moral Dilemmas in Digital Marketing

Letā€™s start with one of my top three regrets this year in marketing: I SO should have started doing SEO years ago. Sigh!

I didnā€™t for similar reasons you might not have, either:

  • First, I was overly focused on socials wayyyy back in the day

  • Then, I thought it was too technical and would take too much time

  • To make matters worse, I donā€™t love Googleā€™s dominance over the structure and our experience of the internet

I still think the third, but your girl also has to eat. Sometimes, navigating the moral dilemmas of digital and algorithmic marketing feels like being stuck between a rock and a hard place and you just have to do what works well enough in the greater scheme of things.

I donā€™t like what social media is doing to the world and people, so Iā€™m off them. Iā€™ve also realized, though, that manual, cold outreach for opportunities is tiring, especially because I donā€™t currently have a VA who can support me with this.

So, even if I may not love what Google is doing to the Internet, some realism is in order, hence SEO it is. I realized I needed to take care of my Google-game, when I saw that Bye, Social Media! shows up nowhere on the SERP (search engine results page) when you enter ā€œmarketing without social mediaā€. Thatā€™s not good, at all. šŸ˜±

Cue the SEO deep dive.

šŸ”šŸ”šŸ”

SEO Learnings So Far:

  1. Itā€™s not as hard to understand as I thought it would be. Yay!

  2. There are a TON of really good tutorials available on YouTube.

  3. I actually enjoy it [WHAT?!?]. The combination of strategy and content, data and communication really intrigues me.

  4. You donā€™t seem to have to write like a robot for it to work. That was one of my main hang-ups and Iā€™m glad thereā€™s leeway with that.

Actually Helpful SEO Tutorials:

I knew some things about SEO beforehand from a job. Iā€™ve been going much deeper with the below:

Iā€™ve been really enjoying this deep dive. Itā€™s a little like going back to uni and obsessing over a topic for a week for a term paper. Itā€™s fun to go through learning sprints like that. Now, I need to translate the learning to doing.

A Win At Being Humanā€¦

Otherwise, I battled fate this week and won. I wore white jeans on a train drinking coffee from a paper cup without a lid on it and emerged victorious.

Itā€™s the little thingsā€¦

Happy Marketing,

Johanna šŸ“£

The Marketing Plan Guide coaches you through making your own, personalized marketing strategy. Learn more.

Show Me Your Work and get 1:1 feedback on your marketing strategy, infuse your copy with life, or make your newsletter fun. Work with me 1:1 here.

Get Both And Save! Book both and get a 50ā‚¬ discount. Get it here.

Reply

or to participate.