I'm Retiring Bye, Social Media!

I had a great ride - and it's time for a change

Hi!

Today, I’m writing with news about Bye, Social Media!

I’ve decided to retire the project to embark on a new chapter.

Over the course of the past two years of writing this newsletter, I’ve enjoyed connecting with you in the inbox tremendously! Sending these emails and the personal, inspiring conversations that followed them has enriched my life in many ways.

At the same time, I struggled with the process of building a brand online. Doing so frequently felt at odds with what I enjoy: exploring ideas and creativity.

While I’m grateful for everything I learnt in the process and feel enriched by the experience, I don’t want to continue on this trajectory. I feel ready to close this chapter.

There’s one thing I’d like to leave you with: the awareness that the digital tools available to us at present are for us to make them our own.

You can take them apart and reassemble them. You don’t have to stick to an imagined instruction manual for solopreneurship on the internet.

It’s for you to make this digital, marketing, and business world your own.

It is this sense of playfulness, experimentation, and creativity that I am going to lean into more going forward - for my email marketing clients at Mercury and in what I do next sharing ideas and creativity on the internet.

In the meantime, I will keep Bye, Social Media!’s blog on beehiiv published, so it can continue to be a resource for those who want to build a business on their own terms and create an intentional relationship with social media in their business.

Thank you again for being here, whether you joined recently or have been reading my newsletters for years.

I’d love for you to be a part of the next chapter and will send you the first iteration of what I create next.

It was a privilege to share this time with you.

And now, for one last time:

Happy Marketing 📣,

Johanna

Join the conversation

or to participate.